Learning How This Parenting Thing Works

So you think you can blog?holding-hands1 No, I’m actually not sure I can. As I’ve thought about blogging and starting a blog I’ve considered many things. First, this is going to take a lot of time. Where am I going to get the time to do this consistently? Noticing however, men much busier than myself and their consistent supply of biblical wisdom to such a wide range of issues through this means I have concluded it’s not a matter of time but discipline.

Second, do I actually have something to offer that will be worthwhile for a human being to read. This blog is going to be primarily a reflection of the ministries I over see at Grace Bible Church. I am the Children’s and Youth Ministries pastor. So, I’ll primarily be writing on topics aimed at equipping parents and volunteers to minister the gospel to people between and including the womb to ~18 years of age. With that said, I have one daughter that is 19… months. That doesn’t add up to a lot of experience in the area of parenting. I come however, with the conviction that Scripture is sufficient for every Christian to be fully equipped for every good work, including parenting. So I have concluded, this blog will be as helpful as it is biblical as it regards issues of parenting babies through young adults.

Finally, and I’ve already touched on it a little bit, what am I going to write about? I read a great blog about blogging which said, among other things, if you are going to start a blog and be consistent it must be something you are passionate about. Well, parenting and equipping parents is something I am very passionate about, but there are many other things I am passionate about. So the content of this blog will primarily be about parenting. However, I will take the liberty to write on other things that I am passionate about when I feel the time is appropriate.

I trust this is going to be a learning experience for all of us. I’ll be writing as I learn and I pray that the things I write about will help you as you learn how this parenting thing works as well. May God bless you and your family as you apply gospel truth to your parenting methods.

Leave a Reply

